banner watermark

Rock Valley Credit Union About Us Page


About Us

Rock Valley Credit Union has been serving Winnebago County and the city of Rochelle for over 50 years and is safe, sound & secure.  As of December 2017, Rock Valley Credit Union can serve anyone who lives, works, worships or attends school in Winnebago, Boone, Ogle, Lee, DeKalb and Stephenson county.  We also now serve Rock, Green and Walworth counties in Wisconsin since June 2018.

Our Purpose

Rock Valley Credit Union's primary purpose is to promote thrift and financial stability among the membership by providing loans at the least possible cost, paying a fair rate of return on savings, and providing helpful member service. Rock Valley Credit Union is committed to the credit union philosophy of "people helping people" because we really do care about our members. Like all credit unions, Rock Valley Credit Union is a non-profit financial cooperative.

Our History

Rock Valley Credit Union is a member-owned and operated financial cooperative. The credit union was formed in 1968 by a small group of Barber-Colman Company employees and was so named Barber-Colman Employees Federal Credit Union. The credit union's name changed to Rock Valley Federal Credit Union in 1991 and in November 2016 we changed from a federal charter credit union to a state credit union allowing us to serve more members.
The credit union now serves approximately 15,500 members. Our main office is located in Loves Park, IL with branch offices in Machesney Park and Rochelle, IL and inside both Meijer grocery stores in Rockford and Machesney Park.

Our Vision

"Taking the fear out of banking"

Our Mission

Educate. Relate. Serve. Grow